Over 1000 spectators and 36 players created a lively atmosphere for the Owen Heary Tribute Match at Dalymount Park on Sunday afternoon, writes Brian Trench.

Glen Crowe and Dessie Baker rolled back the years as they scored for Bohemian XI and Shelbourne XI respectively.

The crowd appreciated the flicks and feints of Joseph Ndo and double goal-scorer Killian Brennan, and the several audacious chips and lobs of Neale Fenn.

There were repeated cheers for the efforts of Owen Heary, who played the first half in Shelbourne strip and the second half in a Bohemian shirt.

The biggest cheer came in the second half when Heary hit a speculative lob from 40 yards that somehow found the net having touched the post and goalkeeper Fred Davis’ (yes! he played too) shoulder. Heary immediately left the field to long applause.


The goalkeeper at the other end, Lee Murphy, recently signed to Bohemians from Shelbourne, had the dubious distinction of picking up the only yellow card.

Like others of the currently active players, Murphy was more energetic than some of the veterans and he pulled off several fine saves, including one from Owen Heary.

When Shelbourne were awarded a soft penalty and the spot-kick was given to Shels fan Fran Reilly, Murphy dived low to his right and saved it. Referee Paul Tuite gave him a yellow card, presumably for bad sportsmanship!

Five goals down after Heary’s score, Shelbourne continued to look for consolation. When second-half sub Dessie Baker eventually scored with a fine shot, Tuite blew the final whistle.

Following Saturday night’s tribute dinner, when Johny Logan, Eric Lalor and a very enthusiastic Dermot Keely were among those who entertained the gathering, Sunday’s match provided a fitting farewell tor Owen Heary, the player.

Owen Heary, the manager, will continue to grace Dalymount Park and inspire the next generation of players.

Bohemians selection: Lee Murphy, Owen Heary, Thomas Heary, Glen Crowe, Neale Fenn, Mark Rossitter, Anto Murphy, Ken Oman, Jason McGuinness, Fergal Harkin, Stephen O’Donnell, Ryan McEvoy, Killian Brennan, Conor Powell, Dave Mulcahy, Jason Kavanagh (Winner of fan auction).

Managed by Pat Fenlon

Shelbourne Selection: Steve Williams, Richie Baker, Owen Heary, Stuart Byrne, Jamie Harris, Alan Cawley, Declan Geoghegan, Stephen Geoghegan, Jim Crawford, Kevin Doherty, Jason Byrne, Ollie Cahill, Glen Fitzpatrick, Joseph N’do, Alan Reynolds, Derek Pender, Fred Davis, Dave Rogers, Dessie Baker, Fran Reilly (winner of fan auction).

Managed by Dermot Keely

Website by Simon Alcock