PFA Ireland Awards

Bohemians are pleased to confirm that 11 of this season’s squad have been re-signed for 2022 so far.

They are: Liam Burt, Ali Coote, Dawson Devoy, Rory Feely, James Finnerty, Ciarán Kelly, Conor Levingston, Stephen Mallon, Jamie Mullins, James Talbot and Tyreke Wilson.

Among them, 20-year-old midfielder Devoy represents one of the country’s finest young talents, which was recognised last night when he scooped the PFA Ireland Young Player of the Year Award.

It was the third season in a row Bohs won that award, while Dawson’s team-mate Georgie Kelly won the main individual prize on offer, the PFA Ireland Player of the Year Award, the first time a Bohemians player has done so since Glen Crowe in 2003.

Reflecting on a breakthrough season where he starred in Europe, winning the July SSE Airtricity/Soccer Writers Ireland Player of the Month for his efforts as well as making his debut for the Ireland U21s, Devoy said: “It was a good season for me personally and I am looking forward to building on it next season.

“Last night it was nice to be noticed by the players you play against and get that recognition from them.

“But next year we want to push on as a team too. It was bitterly disappointing not to qualify for Europe this year, and losing the FAI Cup final was tough for the team and everyone involved at the club.

“We want to be better than that. That will be the aim next year I am sure, as well as getting the club back into Europe.

“We know there will be changes to the squad next season. But with 11 players signed back already, we have a strong core there to build on.

“I am sure Keith Long will add quality to the squad over the next month or so over the closed season as well, as he always does.”

Website by Simon Alcock