FAI Youth Cup winners

The Bohemian Under-18 side were in superb form on Sunday evening as they clinched the FAI Youth Cup.

Cork side Kilreen Celtic looked dangerous in the opening five minutes but once Bohs settled down they started to dominate proceedings.

The venue of the final was changed from Tolka Rovers, Frank Cooke Park to Crumlin United’s all-weather pitch due to the torrential rain in Dublin the day before. The Cork side brought a very large support to the game and they contributed to an excellent atmosphere inside the intimate venue.

Kilreen Celtic were very vocal and their players were eager to get going and this energy and determination was noticeable at the start of the match but their enthusiasm faded after 17 minutes when centre back Ciaran Maguire smacked a shot into the net following a corner kick.


Bohs could have been two goals up inside a minute but Aaron Molloys fantastic strike was saved brilliantly by the Cork goalkeeper.

Kilreen Celtic still caused one or two problems and their striker Cian Hawkins was always a worry with his pace but the Bohs defence handled everything comfortably especially Centre back Robbie O’Leary whose positioning and distribution was superb throughout the game.

In the second half Bohs went up a gear and some of their first half nervousness disappeared. Aaron Molly began to dominate in the centre of midfield while the Bohemian defence continued to extinguish any threats from Kilreen Celtic.

The commitment, energy and skill from Bohs was rewarded when Shane Carter grabbed the second goal of the game . Shane completed his double on seventy minutes before Steven Mullins scored the final forth goal on 78 minutes which ensured that Bohs became FAI Youth Cup Champions.

This was the second time that Bohs won the FAI Youth Cup. It was previously won in 2002.

Bohemians: McKenna, Fogarty, O’Leary, Maguire, Corbally (O’Connell 45), Mullins, Donnelly, Molloy, Murphy (Lewis 72), Carter (Deniffe 79), McGlynn

Bohemian FC Under-18 squad: Aaron McKenna, Simon Bell, Cian Fogarty, Nathan O’Connell, Ciaran Maguire, Aaron Deniffe, Steven Mullins, Ryan Corbally, Neil Donnelly,  Aaron Molloy, Tony McGlynn, Robert O’Leary, Jamie McQuillan, Shane Carter, Adam Murphy, Brian Gillen, Ross Clarke, Carl Lewis.

Website by Simon Alcock