A presentation was made to Owen Heary at the annual Airtricity/Soccer Writers’ Association of Ireland awards banquet last night to acknowledge his contribution to the League of Ireland over the course of his 21-season playing career.

Heary’s haul of seven league titles from his time at Shelbourne and Bohemians is a joint record he shares with Johnny Matthews, while the two FAI Cup medals, Setanta Cup and League Cup medals he has won make the 37-year-old the most decorated player in the league’s history.

Pictured with Heary making the presentation at the Conrad Hotel are SWAI member Aidan Fitzmaurice and association president Paul Buttner.


St Patrick’s Athletic manager Liam Buckley picked up the Personality of the Year Award – a prize Heary won in 2008 – for the second time, beating off competition from his own players Killian Brennan and Anto Flood, Dundalk’s Stephen Kenny and Richie Towell, and Derry City boss Roddy Collins.

Brendan Clarke, also of champions St Pat’s, won the Goalkeeper of the Year Award ahead of Sligo Rovers’ Gary Rogers and Dundalk’s Peter Cherrie.

League of Ireland legend Tommy McConville, who lost his battle with cancer in October, was posthumously awarded the association’s Special Merit Award, with his former Dundalk team-mate Dermot Keely giving a moving tribute in his best friend’s absence.

Bohemians were well represented at the event with backroom staff Owen Heary, Graham O’Hanlon, Fred Davis, Colin O’Connor and Bobby Brown in attendance alongside new signings Jason Byrne and Aidan Price.

Also present were directors and club officials Matt Devaney, Stephen Lambert, Daniel Lambert, Lynn O’Neill and Luke O’Riordan.

Picture credit: Sportsfile

Website by Simon Alcock